Spring

April is probably my favorite month of the year. It’s a given — signs of life are blooming everywhere: trees are getting green again, annual flowers are starting to peak their heads out of the ground, more and more birds are finding their way to our porch (and our rocking chairs). It’s a lovely time of year.

Last spring, my man, dog, and I went for a weekend retreat to the NC mountains, and I’m wishing I was there right about now. We stayed in a yurt (kind of like an insulated tee-pee/tent), and had our own little deck that had steps leading to a stream. We were quite literally the only people there for 3 days, other than the owners, who lived on site.

I found myself with some alone time, and decided to practice yoga on the sunny

Perfect day.

spot of our deck, with nothing but the sound of the soothing stream and nature all around me. It was one of the most peaceful moments of my year last year. I see another trip there in our future soon…

I encourage you to take a few moments this week, as the weather is warming, and nature is in bloom, to find a patch of sunshine and do a little yoga. If not yoga, you could simply sit peacefully and clear your mind, appreciating the beautiful life around you.

Thoughts?

