127 Hours

I just watched “127 Hours.” If you haven’t heard of this or seen it, it’s a film described by the man it is based on as “so factually accurate it is as close to a documentary as you can get and still be a drama.”

I must say that it was very hard to watch at times, but also inspiring and unbelievable. The determination we can find if we dig down deep enough inside ourselves… it’s amazing.

And sometimes, we find ourselves “stuck between a rock and a hard place” (oh, the cheese) before we find the strength inside to simply admit that we need help.

For adventurous people like Aron Ralston, or my brave and amazing brother, who was selected to become a Green Beret in the ARMY, finding the inspiration to make every second of the day count and channel the strength inside themselves is essential every single day.

For those of you who are like me, who wake up, practice or teach yoga, work 8:00-5:00 M-F, struggle over what to make for dinner, do the laundry, watch a movie, stay caught up on celebrity news and NPR Hourly updates, feeling snippy because you had to grocery shop after work and feel like you’re exhausted because you had to make an extra stop before you even did all those things on the to-do list… living day to day just going through the motions of our everyday lives… It’s hard to find that spark inside. I know it is for me. Why do I whine about these things so often? How do I lose the joy in just living every day to its fullest, even finding happiness in the chores I have to do?

My brother tells me to make every day count. Wake up and be the best version of yourself. I get jaded sometimes, and lose focus of that. But even though I’m not saving the world or trekking in uncharted territory in the middle of the desert and seeing the beauty of nature, just me and the world, I am surrounded by beauty, fascinating people, opportunities to grow, better myself, enrich the lives others around me by showing kindness, friendship, love, compassion. That still takes strength and courage, even in a cubicle with no windows or in line at the grocery store in a moment of frustration or anger, trying to still be that best version of you. Making the choice to be all that I can be, make the moment count, even though my arm isn’t stuck in between a rock and a canyon wall.

Thoughts?

