April already?

Rainy, foggy Uptown Charlotte.

I cannot believe it is already April. The past year has absolutely flown by. Hard to grasp that just a year ago, I was only getting settled in a new home in a new town…life is fleeting! There have been so many changes, some good, some bad, some necessary.

Scene from last night...

Scene from last night…

But I’m a sucker for change, starting anew, letting bad times build my character and teach me life lessons. The thing is, each new day is a chance to start anew, right? Still, these hard times are frequently accompanied by tears, attempts to sleep away the sad, cocktails, long walks, sappy viewings of “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” while I equally relate to, feel sorry for, and envy Holly Golightly and her darling/phony/empty/happy/clueless life miles away from the past she’s running from. But it’s alright to feel these things I feel, as long as I don’t run from them; feel them, face them, move forward. Into each life some rain must fall.

e1b83be96ad3bd9392e5251ead7a8edf

Speaking of self-discovery, this running kick I’ve been on has really helped me to grow and push myself out of my comfort zone in so many ways. The Charleston Bridge Run is THIS SATURDAY! I really can’t believe how quickly it crept up. I’ve been running 3-4 times per week, while cross-training (yoga, free weights, elliptical) or resting on off-days and keeping my diet as clean as I can.

I’m glad I haven’t over-trained or caused myself unnecessary injuries. Let’s face it: this year I will not be one of the insanely awesome people who run all 6.2 miles in 30 minutes, and I’m okay with that. One step at a time, right? I’ll just keep moving forward.

Hope your Tuesday is off with a bang. Here’s to warmer days, greener grass, rainy weekends, eating al fresco, ditching the treadmill, pretty flowers in bloom, and the start of a new month.

Happy April! 

 

 

Thoughts?

