Words to live by

Oh, hello! Happy Friday, my friend.

When I started this blog years ago, I used to feature lots of quotes that I loved…words that spoke to me and encouraged me. Time to bring that little feature back. Why not pay it forward and share these words with you? Maybe you will read something that speaks to me and it can ring true for you, too.

Have you seen “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”? I found it to be unexpectedly poignant and beautifully written and filmed. I’ve seen it a few times now. It’s about a group of retirees who venture to India, all for different reasons, to stay in “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.” It follows each of their stories, and we see them grow and change and learn about themselves and a strange new part of the world. Judi Dench and Bill Nighy are my favorites in the movie (Bill Nighy is amazing in anything!), and Judi’s character is very perceptive and thoughtful.

(Source)

I caught most of the movie again last night, and rewound a scene a few times to hear her say this (about their new environment in India):

Initially you’re overwhelmed. But gradually you realize it’s like a wave. Resist, and you’ll be knocked over. Dive into it, and you’ll swim out the other side.”

wpid-20140501_073825.jpg

God, how true is that? So sometimes we get overwhelmed, disappointed, angry, heartbroken, scared….but the more we resist, stick our head in the sand, bury emotions and pretend it’s not happening, live in the past, drink more wine to forget about it…….whatever you are trying not to face knocks you over even more. At least, it’s true for me these days. Thanks, Dame Judi for that unexpected little gem last night. I hear you.

Here’s to another lovely weekend. Looking forward to relaxing, less sniffling, good food, good friends, sunshine, and wine. xo

2 Comments

Thoughts?

